Fish are friends; feet are food

The Santorini I pictured in my head was 75 and sunny for my entire vacation. In reality, we had a handful of good days, a couple cloudy ones and only one with rain.

On that day, beaching was out of the question as was tanning by the hostel pool. We decided to walk around the island’s main town, Fira, and pop into and out of shops when we needed a respite from the rain.

One of the stores we passed was a fish spa and decided to give it a go! Ever tried it? It was only 10 or 15 euro for a 30-minute massage by little fish that eat away your dead skin for sustenance.

At first, I hated the feeling of the fish bites. It was so ticklish but not like if somebody would tickle your feet because the little guys go between your toes.

IMG_6462

About seven minutes in, I adjusted to the odd sensation. And when the timer beeped, I removed my oh-so-soft feet and rewarded with a popsicle. It felt like going to the doctor’s and walking out with a lollipop (+ soft foot skin).

IMG_6464Great rainy day activity in Santorini…except when the beach sand roughed up my feet the next day!

Leave a comment